Had a Palm Free soap week….

13 Apr
Thank God it’s Friday!!!! Wahoo!!!!!
 
I’ve been soooo busy this week I can’t believe it. Here’s my newly listed soap on Etsy: Pink Himalayan Salt soap check it out I have a 10% sale going on just enter APRILSHOWERS at checkout.
 
Anyway, thought I show you something I did over the week. This is what I call “The Dino Palm Free Soap” and it all started like this……….
 
I measured the oils:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Then I added the Lye Solution:
 
 
 
 
 
Took my stick blender and blended:
 
 
 
 
 
Then I separated the mixture into 3 measuring bowls and added coloring:
 
 
 
 
 
After mixing the coloring, I started pouring into the mold:
 
 
 
 
Added a layer of Hawaiian Black Lava Salt:
 
 
 
Continued adding more soap then I took a squirt bottle and dotted the entire top of the Palm Free Soap:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
AND drum roll Please!!!!!! Check this out!
 
I am so proud of myself. Do you see the bumps on top? Don’t they look like a dinosaur? This is the recipe I used to make it: (don’t forget to run this and any other recipe through a LYE CALCULATOR) and make sure you know about LYE Safety before starting!
 
Here’s the recipe: (makes a 2.5 lb. batch)
 
Distilled Water 430 grams
Lye 155.0 grams
 
Olive Oil 624. grams
Coconut Oil 227. grams
Sweet Almond Oil  227. grams
Cocoa Butter 57. grams
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
15 Responses to “Had a Palm Free soap week….”

  1. andy1076 April 13, 2012 at 11:59 PM #

    I almost forget they are soap and not pastry lol 😀

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. April 14, 2012 at 9:32 AM #

      I bet you wouldn’t forget if you took a bite:)

      • andy1076 April 14, 2012 at 2:44 PM #

        LOL that I most certainly would not 😀

  2. juliacastorp April 21, 2012 at 6:24 AM #

    This is so interesting..

  3. futuredoll September 29, 2012 at 11:27 AM #

    The dotting really brings in another interesting texture element!

  4. Jacqui April 3, 2013 at 5:21 AM #

    This is fantastic!! How did you get the bubbles? what was in the squirt bottle?
    I love your site!!
    Jacq x

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. April 3, 2013 at 5:24 AM #

      Yes, it was a squirt bottle:)

      • dani March 29, 2014 at 9:57 PM #

        I don’t understand how you used a squirt bottle to do that. What was IN the squirt bottle?

      • P.S. I Love Soap Co. March 30, 2014 at 5:53 AM #

        Hi Dani,
        Soap batter was in the squirt bottle. 🙂

  5. theBarefootedCrafter April 9, 2013 at 9:33 AM #

    I’m just starting out on the adventure of soap making and going palm free is very important to me. Thank you so much for sharing your recipes! As a beginner, it’s hard to calculate my own recipe and I’ve had very little luck finding palm-free recipes. I truly appreciate yours! And GO YOU! for going palm free =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In Need of a Palm Free soap recipe? If so, keep reading! « PS I Love Soap Co - April 19, 2012

    […] been looking for a Palm Free Soap Recipe, I’ve got one for you! But first you may want to look at this recipe and then come back to this […]

  2. As Requested, Palm Free Soap Recipe! « PS I Love Soap Co - November 14, 2012

    […] another recipe? Check out this Palm Free recipe (it’s towards the […]

Leave a Reply

