In Need of a Palm Free soap recipe? If so, keep reading!

19 Apr

First let me say, Happy Thursday! I’m going to say that even though I thought it was Friday……Whew! Good thing my husband told me that it was Thursday.  It’s been an awful long WEEK. Anyone else think it’s been a long week?

Second here’s a picture of Goat milk soap scented w/ Lavender. (Made it yesterday)I also threw some Lavender buds in it and on top. Just for a little added something.

Now that I have that out of the way…

If you’ve been looking for a Palm Free Soap Recipe, I’ve got one for you! But first you may want to look at this recipe and then come back to this one……

This is probably going to be one of the easiest recipes ever! Why?

Glad you asked. This recipe has one oil and one butter. It is the complete opposite of everything you know about soap making. The INS# Iodine Number Saponification (which I’ll get into that on another post) is off the charts. With that being said it still produces a very hard & moisturizing bar………

Here’s a picture of Palm Free Soap. I made it  a few weeks ago, it has a layer of Black Hawaiian Lava Salt in the middle….

Palm Free Soap
Hawaiian Black Lava Salt
Scented w/ Drakkar fragrance

Okay, enough of that…….Make sure you read Lye Safety first! And if you haven’t made a batch you might want to consider one of these books Smart Soapmaking The Natural Soap Book

 

This is for a 2.5 pound batch.

Goat Milk (frozen) 15.2 ounces

Lye 185 grams

Coconut Oil 845 grams

Cocoa Butter 389 grams

 

That’s it that’s the whole recipe. Can you believe it? Anyway, Mix the lye slowly into the frozen goat milk (when I take the goat milk out of the freezer I put it into the microwave for approx. 20 to 30 seconds just to get it a bit slushy.)

Then let that mixture sit while you melt the Cocoa Butter. Then Take the melted Cocoa Butter and add it to the Coconut Oil. That should melt the Coconut Oil and bring down the temperature of the Cocoa butter.

***I like both the lye solution and the oil/butters to be around room temperature***

 

Make sure your mold is ready to GO!

Then add your Lye solution to the oil/butters and get the stick blender. This recipe will set up pretty fast…..Blend—When you reach trace Mold it. Unmold after 8 to 10 hours. Cut and then give this soap a long sure…….I like to give it at least 10 weeks! It’s well worth the wait. Let me know what you think!

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “In Need of a Palm Free soap recipe? If so, keep reading!”

  1. Mary September 22, 2013 at 8:40 PM #

    I’ve been looking for a coconut oil and cocoa butter soap recipe! Thanks! This will be my first attempt at soap making. Can I use coconut milk instead of goats milk? Does adding fragrance change anything, or will the fragrance of the cocoa butter and coconut oil be enough? Thanks!

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. September 23, 2013 at 5:15 AM #

      Hi Mary,

      Glad you’re going to try it. I love the recipe myself, hope you feel the same. Yes, you can use coconut milk. As for the fragrance it depends which one you’re using. Try and use one that doesn’t accelerate trace.
      Not sure if I’ve ever made a batch unscented. If you want to do it unscented you could give it a try. I’m sure the scent of the cocoa butter will be there….

      Again glad you found a recipe. have fun! and thanks for stopping by,
      Pam

Leave a Reply

