Whew! It’s finally here FRIDAY! Yippee Yahoo…..Now what? Should I start w/ a kelp soap recipe?

20 Apr

Nah….. It’s time to Party!

Ah…but I have too many things on my Plate to do that. Starting Monday I’ll be documenting my newest project. Which I’m Super excited about!! (I’ll give that 2 exclamation points) Because I really am Super excited….. So stayed turned for that!

If you’re interested this is my newest listing on Etsy: Hawaiian Black Lava Salt Soap

Now, before I get to the Kelp Soap Recipe, I’d like to tell you about it and using it.

What is Kelp? Have you ever noticed in the ocean something that looks wavy or swaying back and forth? Well, that’s kelp. It’s a type of marine algae or seaweed and grows in 3 different colors (Green, Brown & Red.) If you’d like more information check out Help for Kelp!

Okay, now onto the usage: You do not want to use too much. Let me repeat that You Do Not want to use too much. I wouldn’t use anymore than 1 tsp per pound of oils. Otherwise, it could really stink (fish stink.) IK!

That wouldn’t be good…….Of coarse if you like that smell you could use more! The best part to making your own soap is you’re the one in control of the ingredients!

Alright I’ve said everything I need to say so let me give you the recipe:

Make sure you read “Lye Safety” and be sure to run this and any other soap recipe through a Lye Calculator

Here it is:

Distilled Water 390 grams

Lye 156 grams

Avocado Oil 142 grams

Castor oil 47 grams

Coconut Oil 283 grams

Palm Oil 189 grams

Olive Oil 331 grams

Shea butter 142 grams

2 tps Kelp (powdered) mix a little distilled water into the kelp and let it sit before adding it to trace.

This will be the color of the soap when you are done…..

It’s sort of a muted Green…Which i kind of like. What do you think?

22 Responses to “Whew! It’s finally here FRIDAY! Yippee Yahoo…..Now what? Should I start w/ a kelp soap recipe?”

  1. eighttreestreet April 20, 2012 at 3:36 PM #

    thanks for the recipe, love to try it! Can’t wait to see what’s coming up. Happy Friday!

  2. Pink Ninjabi April 20, 2012 at 8:05 PM #

    Love it! Love! Do you also sell your soaps?

    Pink.

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. April 20, 2012 at 8:19 PM #

      Hi and thanks for stopping by…As a matter of fact I do sell them Here’s the address it will take you to my Etsy store….www.psilovesoapco.com

      • Pink Ninjabi April 20, 2012 at 8:31 PM #

        Wooo hooo!! Looking forward to it! 😀 I have to admit, your soaps look scrumptious too! Too bad they’re not edible? 😀

        Pink.

      • P.S. I Love Soap Co. April 20, 2012 at 8:45 PM #

        Some of them smell good enough to eat too:)

      • Pink Ninjabi April 21, 2012 at 3:49 AM #

        HAHA.. I bet! Too pretty to use even. Gnom. Gnom.

      • P.S. I Love Soap Co. April 21, 2012 at 9:39 AM #

        O thank you:)

  3. fabriccreations April 21, 2012 at 3:41 AM #

    Your soap looks awesome! Wish I had time to make it………I may have to buy some;)

  4. Kim May 7, 2012 at 8:01 PM #

    Am I inputting this right in Soap Calc? It is supposed to be superfatted at 26%? I was ready to give this recipe a try, it looks fantastic, but wanted to check with you first. Wouldn’t that high of a superfat make a really soft soap? Help! Thanks 🙂

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. May 7, 2012 at 8:42 PM #

      Hi Kim,

      No, is the answer to your question. I always superfat between 4 and 6%. Unhm….I’ll go back it put the percentage next to the oils….
      Let me know if you need anything else:)

      • Kim May 7, 2012 at 10:09 PM #

        Ok. The amount of lye you had in the recipe would superfat at 26%. I didn’t think it could be right. Had to check. Thanks 🙂

      • P.S. I Love Soap Co. May 7, 2012 at 10:19 PM #

        I just looked at my recipe and and my post and I did have the number right..Not sure why it’s not working out for you.
        But thanks for keeping me on to of things….:)

      • Kim May 7, 2012 at 11:26 PM #

        I don’t know what I am missing in my calculations. When I ran the recipe in soapcalc and MMS it says the amount of lye should be 156 grams at 6% superfat, but you used 123 grams of lye. That’s 33 grams of lye less putting it at 26% superfat. Gosh, I feel lame because I don’t understand what I am missing.

      • P.S. I Love Soap Co. May 8, 2012 at 7:42 AM #

        Kim,

        I should have asked which recipe you were Looking at….I was looking at the wrong recipe!!!!This was driving me NUTS! You are right! Go with your numbers.I’m changing the post… For future posts I think I’ll just stay w/ percentages……

      • P.S. I Love Soap Co. May 8, 2012 at 7:43 AM #

        O’ and THANK YOU:)

      • Kim May 8, 2012 at 8:05 AM #

        Ohhhh… yay… I’m not going crazy.. yet! lol You are welcome 🙂
        I went and bought some kelp powder so I could make this soap. I love the idea of it. Sounds so natural and spa like. Is the recipe for the salt bar like in the picture or a similar type soap? There isn’t any salt in the recipe. I’m such a pain in the behind. I don’t mean to be. I just like to make soap and I’m visual. So I see a purty bar of soap with a recipe then I’m all over it 🙂

      • P.S. I Love Soap Co. May 8, 2012 at 8:13 AM #

        You’re not a pain in the behind….I’m up early here on the east coast because that recipe was driving me NUTS….I had no Clue I was Looking at the wrong recipe! Leave it to me. lol
        It is not the recipe for the one with the salt. But, What I usually do is add Dead Sea Salt (Off the top of my head 3 Tbsps) Either to the lye solution to dissolve it or (the picture of that soap) I may have added it to trace. Dead Sea Salt will sweat more than other salts. But I love it…
        Be sure to be careful with the Kelp powder. It is potent stuff. I’ve grown accustomed to it:)

  5. Alli September 8, 2014 at 11:28 AM #

    I am eager to try my own sea kelp recipe! Your ingredients are almost the same as my base recipe, except i use tallow instead of palm. But i have a question, does the finished bar have any scent to it? does the natural sea kelp scent last through the cure? Or should i add a scent to it? I’m going to add some dead sea salt too (per hubby’s request)… any tips with unmolding and cutting? i thought i read somewhere that the sweating causes issues so i’m scared to use that type of salt.

  6. Alli September 8, 2014 at 11:56 AM #

    Also, one more question… i love the dark color of your kelp soap, but all the other pics i’ve seen online of kelp soap are of a much lighter grey-green. And caution has been given to not use too much kelp powder or it will have a bad fishy-ocean smell. So, did you use anything else to color your soap or was it just the 2tsp kelp powder? any other tips? have you made another kelp batch since this post (2012)?

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. September 8, 2014 at 12:21 PM #

      Hi,

      I did use a bit of color have no clue what though. Since I made that bar aapprox. 5/6 years ago and I don’t have the time to look through ALL of my record books. If left unscented it will have a definite fishy oceany scent I’ve always added a bit of scent. Now the salt depending on how much you add will effect the unmolding.
      I’ve always found that if you just add few tbsps unmolding and cutting is no problem. However, if you are making a true Salt bar then unmolding is quite different. I usually unmold my salt bars 3/4 after pouring the batter into the mold.
      Thanks for stopping by! Good luck with your creation 🙂

Leave a Reply

