I Had a Guinness Stout & Hops Soap recipe kind of weekend!

30 Apr

First let me start off with the Farmer’s market updates….We finally got our canopy see:

"Canopy"

And we got the Banner!

"Banner"

I have to say I kind of like it (the banner.) Of course what else would I say? The picture doesn’t really do it justice! It’s a simple yet powerful banner……That you can see from a mile away. Makes me happy:)

With all of the running around we’ve been doing I thought it would be fitting to make a Guinness Stout and hops soap. This can be done either Cold Process or Hot Process — I prefer to do it Hot! But you could do it whichever way you’d like. One of these days when I get some time I’ll actually go over the process to making soap……But for now here’s the Guinness Stout & hops recipe!

This recipe produces lots of lather, bubbles and moisture….It’s awesome!!!

Make sure you read LYE SAFETY and always run this and any other soap recipe through a LYE CALCULATOR!

Makes 2.5 lbs.

Ingredients:

Boiled Guinness Stout (or any other beer) 388 grams

(When you boil the beer it will release the bubbles because you do not want bubbles)

Lye 164 grams

Palm Oil 363 grams

Olive Oil 363 grams

Coconut Oil 363 grams

Castor Oil 45 grams

1/3 cup whole leaf hops

2 to 3 tbsp powdered hops

This is how you put it together….

  1. Boil the Beer

    Boil Beer Until it looks like this....

  2. Measure the Oils.

    Measure Oils

  3. Melt the Oils. ( I put mine in a Crock-pot)

    Melt the Oils

  4. Measure the Lye.

    Measure the Lye.

  5. Add the Lye to the Beer. SLOWLY and stirring as you go….

    Add Lye to Beer.

  6. Add the Lye solution to the Oils. Take your stick blender and Blend!

    Add Lye Solution to Oils and Stick Blend.

  7. Blend until you reach thick Trace.

    Continue blending until you reach thick trace!

  8. Then put the lid on and cook. (I leave it on Low) It will separate and look a little wrong but it’s not. It will eventually look like Vaseline. When it does pick some up between your fingers. At that point I usually do the zap test. If it zaps then I let it cook more if it doesn’t it’s time to add the hops!
  9. Add the Hops! (I use 2 different kinds)

    Pellet Hops - Need to be crushed into powder..

    Whole leaf hops ( I cut them up some before adding)

  10. When you are finished adding the hops it’s time to put it into molds. Then I the soap cool off and then I UN-mold.
  11. Here’s the Finished Product!

    Guinness Stout & Hops Soap

19 Responses to “I Had a Guinness Stout & Hops Soap recipe kind of weekend!”

  1. mondayschildprims April 30, 2012 at 6:56 PM #

    Awesome…thanks for sharing! I so want to try making soap some day soon! And your new banner looks awesome. Simple yet makes a bold statement:)

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. April 30, 2012 at 7:15 PM #

      One day you should try making soap…But I should forewarn you…You’ll get hooked…
      and thanks for you nice compliments!:)

  2. Gunta April 30, 2012 at 7:47 PM #

    This looks like way too much work, but I guess somebody’s gotta do it 😉 So glad you seem to be enjoying it.

  3. Kat Ezat May 2, 2012 at 12:58 PM #

    Thanks for visiting my blog 😉

    I wanna make soap now too… Could you do an intro for beginners?

    Have a great day…

    http://lifesjewelsonstring.blogspot.de/

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. May 2, 2012 at 3:36 PM #

      Thanks for stopping by….I’m planning on do an intro just haven’t had the time:)

  4. Kim May 8, 2012 at 8:09 AM #

    Love the banner. Very professional and eye catching. Totally love the idea of this soap too. I will leave the beer soaps to the pros though. I tried it once and failed and I will not do it again. Stinky stuff!! lol Thanks for sharing. You rock!!

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. May 8, 2012 at 8:16 AM #

      O’ you should give it a try. I think it’s worth it. Although, I think they are all worth it!
      As for the banner I had a Professional (http://classiclyamber.com/) do it…lol If you’d like me to post any other recipes let me know…..

  5. futuredoll October 18, 2012 at 3:46 PM #

    Thanks! The banner is great-I wish you much success!

  6. Jennifer Carr December 14, 2012 at 6:14 PM #

    Please help asap as I would like to attempt this today……
    Did you use any essential oils? If so what kind? If not what do these smell like….haha, I’m assuming hops, but I’m not exactly sure what hops smells like. I appreciate any response.

    Thank you!
    Jen

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. December 15, 2012 at 12:17 AM #

      Hi Jen,

      I leave it unscented you could use a lager scented Fragrance oil.
      If left unscented it smells like (as my husband would say) Hay – which I’m guessing would be the hops….Have fun! if you need any other help let me know:)
      Pam

  7. Jennifer Carr December 15, 2012 at 6:01 AM #

    Thanks Pam!!! I’m actually about to make it now =) I picked up Cascade hops which smells like a sweeter hops (not sure what kind you use) and found another lady on the web that puts sweet almond in hers. Still not sure if I’m going to do that? Wish me luck!

    Thanks again for the recipe!

    Jen

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. December 15, 2012 at 11:23 AM #

      Good luck Jen! O’ and by the way you can use any soap recipe for beer soap. All you have to do is change out the water for beer…Make sure you boil ALL the bubbles out prior to using the beer though:)

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. December 18, 2012 at 4:50 PM #

      Jennifer-

      Did you make it? How did it work for you? Let me know…

      Pam

  8. wildcraft diva September 29, 2013 at 5:00 PM #

    Great post
    Thanks, linked to it http://wildcraftvita.blogspot.it/2013/09/things-to-do-with-hops.html

  9. DM April 30, 2014 at 10:09 PM #

    Could you do this with cold process soap? I assume you’d have to boil the beer and then let it cool before adding the lye. Or could you make hop soap with water (I like the idea of hop-scented soap – but not beer-scented)

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. May 1, 2014 at 5:18 AM #

      Yes, you could make cold process and you’d want to cool off the beer (you could put it in the fridge)before adding the lye….And making the soap with beer changes the texture of the lather it doesn’t make it smell like beer. But adding hops makes it smell a bit of hops but basically it’s a unscented bar.

Leave a Reply

