Do you Need Lye to Make Soap?

20 Jul

Happy Friday!

First let me say. This is Last day to receive 25% off your entire order at:

P.S. I Love Soap Co or My Etsy Shop

ENTER:

sizzling

Okay now that I’ve said that I Hope everyone’s had a Great week.

So one of the questions I get asked at the Boonton Farmers’ Market is:

“Do you need LYE to make Soap ?”

LYE also called (Sodium Hydroxide)

If you don’t know what Lye (also called Sodium Hydroxide) is,  it’s a caustic substance. Years ago it was used as a Drain Cleaner. When it’s dry there’s no problem. But, if it comes in contact with the tiniest bit of moisture (humid days and lye don’t mix since the lye will attract the water) it gets very Hot.  How hot? Hot enough that if it comes in contact with your skin you can get Burned.

(This is why Soap Makers wear Protective eye-wear, gloves and long sleeves).

What most people don’t realize about soap is  it’s the  product of a chemical reaction.

At the Farmers’ market, I had an older gentleman customer. He said he used to make soap many years ago.  He the gave me  the Best description of Making Soap.

This is what he told me.

You take 2 separate substances combine them together and you end up producing a 3rd substance which would be soap…..

This was the Best description of Soap Making I’ve ever heard!

Do you Need Lye (Sodium Hydroxide) to make soap? the answer is “YES” you need lye to make soap. There are however less dangerous ways to make soap. You could buy a melt & pour base or use a pre-made base.

If you are interested in making soap the old fashion way check out Soap Making the Easy Way!

2 Responses to “Do you Need Lye to Make Soap?”

  1. eighttreestreet July 20, 2012 at 4:59 PM #

    Happy Friday! I while back I was going to attempt to make my own but I’m a little scare of the lye 😉

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. July 20, 2012 at 5:38 PM #

      Happy Friday to you too!
      As long as you wear protective gear and are careful there really isn’t anything to fear.
      The only time I had a problem were I got a burn –(it was from my own stupidity!)
      I’ve made hundreds of batches and then decided to try hot process it was a bad idea……
      maybe one day I’ll convince you! However making soap is addicting:)

Leave a Reply

