The Tip I learned today for using LYE…

5 Sep

Wow! Can you believe it’s already Wednesday? Those holidays really make the week Fly by……

I’ve been making soap for years. So, I’m still scratching my head with this one….

I can’t believe what I did. I had lye ALL over the place. AHHHHH…..

I’m going to share with you what happened to me. Then maybe you’ll remember my short story the next time you make soap.

Do you see the girls hair above? The static electricity makes her hair stand up….
Well, I decided to wipe the counter down one more time with a very damp cloth. ( I’m a little bit of a germ nut)

Anyway,

I neglected to dry it thoroughly (not sure where my head was)

so when I was weighing the Lye it was going ALL over the place.

I should also mention,  I usually use a DRYER  sheet to go around the rim of the Lye bottle and the container I add the Lye to….So, that I don’t have any problems with static electricity & the LYE.

Here’s my Tip!

Use a Dryer Sheet to go around the rim of the Lye bottle & container you’ll be using for the Lye AND  always make sure your counters are dry!

4 Responses to “The Tip I learned today for using LYE…”

  1. Anne-Marie Faiola September 5, 2012 at 8:23 PM #

    What an excellent tip, thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Flamboyant Wallflower September 6, 2012 at 12:18 AM #

    I’m sorry, I’m sure it was a mess, but the visual of you and the “electric” lye is hilarious!

Leave a Reply

