What is the best way to store the soap between uses?

18 Mar

The answer to that question is super easy.

A Soap Dish.

soap dish

Yep, that’s what I said a soap dish. But not Any soap dish.

You’ll need one that will keep your Natural soap out of standing water.

See, the most important thing to keep in mind when choosing a soap dish is making sure the soap will sit above the run off of water.

Below, is an example of a  common wooden soap dish.

Many people use these types of soap dishes.  I personally don’t like them. I find that the  soap sticks to them

AND

the soap is not far enough away from the water.

So, the soap doesn’t dry as fast.

Wooden Soap Dish

Wooden Soap Dish

WOODEN SOAP DISH

WOODEN SOAP DISH

See how the soap sits on the Wooden dish…..?

Now,  onto the type I prefer.

It’s more like little finger tips or pegs holding up your bar of soap. (see the last picture below)

Plus, you can’t see them but there are some holes between those fingers / pegs.

The holes make sure the water drains.

Keeping your bar of soap lasting longer.

SOAP DISH

SOAP DISH

IMG_4335Soap dish 1

Can you see how the soap sits on those fingers/pegs? The soap will dry faster which will make your bar last longer.

And

That’s a good thing:)

8 Responses to “What is the best way to store the soap between uses?”

  1. mondayschildprims March 18, 2013 at 9:55 AM #

    Thank you! That is very helpful! I have been using the plastic kind that you recommend but I had been wondering if the wooden ones were better and if I should have been using those…That clears it up!

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. March 18, 2013 at 10:01 AM #

      Michelle – You’re welcome! The plastic ones are definitely not as pretty but they do a much better job and with out the aggravation of unsticking the soap… Glad I helped:)

  2. smallftprints March 18, 2013 at 12:22 PM #

    Oh thanks … I have one of the wooden variety and, just as you said, the soap sticks to it. Ugh! I’m going to keep my eye out for one with “fingers”. Excellent tip!

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. March 18, 2013 at 2:20 PM #

      I knew there had to be others out there with the same problem. The plastic soap dish with fingers/pegs is awesome! and the soap DOES NOT stick At ALL:)

  3. Our Growing Paynes March 19, 2013 at 10:12 AM #

    Great tip!

  4. Anne-Marie Faiola March 20, 2013 at 2:52 PM #

    This is one question that I constantly get about soap, and I am so glad to see that other bloggers and soapcrafters are addressing it. Thanks for sharing. =)

Leave a Reply

