Are there Any Chemicals in my soaps?

21 Mar

I have two different answers for that question.

yes no

Both answers, really?

Yes! Both….

For years I was making Natural Soap for myself and family. It was a need to end DRY SKIN. I wasn’t making it to avoid chemicals. My goal at the time (for me and my family) was to get DETERGENTS off  our Skin and it worked

No More Dry Skin!

While doing it I accumulated an abundance of soaps.  (I’ve been making handcrafted soaps for 6/7 years.)

Last year (2012),

I started selling my soaps at the local Farmers Market.

IMG_2917

I would tell customers that I use Fragrance Oil and FDA Approved Coloring….No one seemed to mind. I answered lots questions and it got me thinking. That’s when I took the plunge (although, not as big as I would have liked) and made  a few batches of ALL – NATURAL soaps.

I made a sign specially for the tray they were on….Saying “ALL NATURAL Soaps” and had an arrow pointing to them. I had many, many, many customers ask what are these? I would tell them, those are my ALL NATURAL soaps that I use Essential Oils (plant based not manufactured)and I use natural coloring like Paprika instead of FDA approved coloring. Out of say 100 customers maybe 1 possibly 2 wanted the ALL NATURAL Soaps.

With that being said I have added ALL Natural Soaps to my ETSY store. This is just the beginning…..More to come!

Here is the link to my ALL Natural Soaps on ETSY.

Okay, so let me get back to the question. Are there any chemicals in my soaps?

Answers:

No – There are None in my ALL NATURAL  and Unscented No Color Selections.

But

YES – There are in every other soap I make. Since Fragrance is a chemical and some of the colorings I use too.

It’s ALL about CHOICES!

11 Responses to “Are there Any Chemicals in my soaps?”

  1. andy1076 March 21, 2013 at 11:31 AM #

    Cute display 🙂

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. March 21, 2013 at 11:38 AM #

      Thanks! Hope you’re having a great day:)

      • andy1076 March 21, 2013 at 7:09 PM #

        It’s good today! sunny 🙂 🙂 thx!

  2. daribix March 21, 2013 at 11:46 AM #

    wow…very interesting…who knew?
    love your booth!

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. March 21, 2013 at 11:51 AM #

      Hi Darilyn!

      Thanks! that’s a pic from last year. Were still working on this years:) Thanks to you!

  3. Our Growing Paynes March 21, 2013 at 12:57 PM #

    So do the natural soaps have lye in them? I want to try to make soap but I want to make it as natural as possible but I usually end up finding recipes that have chemicals in them.

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. March 21, 2013 at 1:24 PM #

      All soap is made with lye (sodium hydroxide). The definition of soap is the chemical reaction between lye (sodium hydroxide) and oil.
      However there is no lye left in the final product. Soap is a chemical reaction. This is the easiest explanation would be —You take two completely different materials and create a third material.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Are there Any Chemicals in my soaps? | P.S. I Love Soap Co. Bloggin' Adventure - March 21, 2013

    […] Are there Any Chemicals in my soaps?. […]

Leave a Reply

