Sometimes, it happens!

9 Sep

This past weekend we were vendors at River Jam. It’s a festival that’s packed with 2 stages, 16 bands, food, beer, wine, and lots of crafters.  It’s a really great event especially if there’s good weather which it was! Couldn’t have asked for a better day.

We set up our booth and decided to take our normal stroll around to look at what the other vendors were selling. Then came back and sat until it was time to sell.

Right off the bat, 

Boom….

We sold 5 bars of Clouds In the Sky!Clouds in the sky2a

I was thrilled because I LOVE this bar. I know how happy people are going to be with them. I’m not sure if they’re going to use them OR put them on a shelf to look at. I know that they all found great homes. 🙂

Anyway,

I’ve been making soap for over 8 years and every now and then I loose my mind. I had a potential customer come to the table and ask if I add Lauric Acid to my soaps? and I said “No.” Because I don’t……

She said ” Oh, not a problem, not a lot of soap people add it to the soap” and I was like okay….

When she walked away I started thinking that really All of my soaps have Lauric Acid in them. And I should have told her that… Dah….

You want to know what it is too, right?

What is Lauric Acid?

Lauric Acid is an unusual fatty acid that have saturation and a low Molecular weight. (Usually to create a hard, bar of soap you need a High Molecular) The exception to that rule are the oils listed below.  What does it mean to have saturation and a Low Molecular weight? It means it produces a hard bar of soap with great lather. These are some of the oils that are high in Lauric Acid.

Palm Kernel Oil

Coconut Oil

Babassu Oil

5 Responses to “Sometimes, it happens!”

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode September 9, 2013 at 2:58 PM #

    What lovely soaps! 🙂

  2. Anne-Marie Faiola September 9, 2013 at 3:22 PM #

    Congrats! I can see why they sold right out — they are fabulous!

    • P.S. I Love Soap Co. September 9, 2013 at 4:01 PM #

      Thanks a bunch….You should have seen them in person. They were so cool…. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sometimes, it happens! | P.S. I Love Soap Co. Bloggin' Adventure - September 9, 2013

    […] Sometimes, it happens!. […]

Leave a Reply

